Question Insert a ladder to climb to the ceiling

rha

Missing Survivor
Joined
Mar 18, 2018
Hello colleagues of the forum, I am playing the state of decay again, I am glad that I can modify it. I am not an expert, but I do some things and take advantage of the existing mods.

I am modifying my base in the Kirkman Residence (bigjohn).
How can I insert a ladder to climb to the ceiling?
I'm making the modifications on the mission_mission0.xml file that is in game \ levels \ class3.

I have inserted a ladder but it behaves like a simple object and I can not use it to go up or down, I pass through it without doing anything:

<Entity Name = "Ladder_BasicEntity" Pos = "2606.9896,1724.956,128.34174" Rotate = "0.91965026,0,0,0.39273837" EntityClass = "BasicEntity" EntityId = "9974" EntityGuid = "423821F59584D578" ViewDistRatio = "200" Layer = " RTS ">
<Properties bAutoGenAIHidePts = "0" object_Model = "objects / class3_2 / objects / ladders / ladder_metal_01 / ladder_metal_01.cgf" bPickable = "0" soclasses_SmartObjectClass = "" bUsable = "0" UseText = "">
<Physics Density = "- 1" Mass = "- 1" bPhysicalize = "1" bPushableByPlayers = "0" bRigidBody = "0" />
</ Properties>
</ Entity>

Ashampoo_Snap_domingo, 28 de octubre de 2018_15h10m10s_001_.png

I hope any help or suggestion.
 

QMJS

Zed Hunter
Joined
Jan 9, 2018
Location
Eastern USA
Never considered it before, but I would think that you need to change bUsable = "0" to 1.

Edit: You may also need to change bRigidBody to 1 as well.

If that doesn't do it by itself, locate a ladder from one of the Tartan Marts and use that.
 
Last edited:

rha

Missing Survivor
Joined
Mar 18, 2018
Thanks for your suggestions QMJS.

I have tried with bUsable = "1" but there is no effect.

The Tartan Mart ladder is integrated into the entire structure in a single cgf file. I do not know how to extract it. I have not found the ladder apart.
If I found a wooden ladder that appears in the barns: objects / decor / farmhouse_furnishings / ladder / ladder.cgf but I can not activate it to go up and down the ladder.

Based on what I have done previously, you may:
- I must configure another property.
- The EntityClass = "BasicEntity" that I am using is not adequate.
- I must configure another file that performs the animation of going up and down the staircase, but in the cgf file folders I have not found other files (except mtl).

At the base I have placed a windmill by inserting two codes:
- One contains the mill in motion (file windmill_01.cga, EntityClass = "AnimObject").
- The other contains a cgf file of an invisible wall that makes the mill not transparent.

Snapshot_18.pngSnapshot_6.png

Keep investigating. But to solve my need to climb the roof of the house Kirkman I have placed the ladder (ladder.cgf) as if it were a bridge between my tower and the house.

Snapshot_1.pngSnapshot_4.png

With these improvements and some more I'm personalizing my base Kirkman:

Snapshot_0.pngSnapshot_7.pngSnapshot_15.png
 

QMJS

Zed Hunter
Joined
Jan 9, 2018
Location
Eastern USA
Ok, here is a bit more that may help.
First, go get this: https://www.nexusmods.com/stateofdecay/mods/409 or https://www.moddb.com/games/state-of-decay/addons/fortitude-mod-bases-blood-and-barricades#downloadsform

Phacops did quite a bit of similar work, and I think that you may be able to learn a bit more from what he did than my suggestions. The particular files you will want to look at inside the zip file are these:
\Game\XmlMods\FortitudeMod - Bases - Savini.xml
\Game\XmlMods\FortitudeMod - Bases - Snyder.xml


Other stuff to consider:
Make sure anything that you add has a unique EntityGuid. The easiest way to accomplish this is to change the first number from 4 to 5. (For example change EntityGuid="4FFF1A51DB8DD901" to EntityGuid="5FFF1A51DB8DD901".
Similarly, make sure they all have a unique entityId. I think that the highest one in the game is 19253, so maybe start yours with 20000 and count up.
 

rha

Missing Survivor
Joined
Mar 18, 2018
If I've tried the Mod Fortitude, but it does not have what I was looking for it's like placing doors and stairs. I am directly modifying the mission0 file.

Although yesterday I found an "uldooreditor" file where it has the properties for the doors, but I still do not know how to make it work.

It seems to me that in the case of doors and stairs is integrated to the basic structures of the game and can not be handled as simply as placing a prefabricated Watchtower or a static object or a simple animation (windmill, traffic cones). Something like this I have seen that it has been done in the moditude Fortitude with the entity "Rope".

Apart from the Entity ID and GUID that you mentioned, you also have to consider the layer, otherwise it is not shown (I have checked it).

Keep investigating.
 

QMJS

Zed Hunter
Joined
Jan 9, 2018
Location
Eastern USA
The climbable ladder on the watchtower facilities has this placed in the same positions as the ladder on the model. Note that the position numbers are relative to the model's origin, so if placing it over an existing ladder, you would likely need to change the positions to match the ladder world position. The point positions are relative as well, and are the base of the ladder, each step, and the top

<Object Type="ULMarkupTransform" Layer="18-AR" LayerGUID="{15791300-2CCC-45A7-93E3-5A1C60236AF6}" Id="{DF06B62B-6FDB-4099-BD04-4C19E1CB7A7E}" Name="ULMarkupTransform3" Pos="3.3410645,1.9401855,0.1000061" FloorNumber="-1" Rotate="0.38268346,0,0,0.9238795" ColorRGB="16763904" SourceTag="ClimbOver" TargetTag="" Width="0" Height="4" AreaId="0" GroupId="0" Priority="0" Closed="1" DisplayFilled="0" DisplaySoundInfo="0" Agent_height="1.8" Agent_width="0.5" Render_voxel_grid="0" voxel_offset_x="0" voxel_offset_y="0" BuildingInterior="0" EntityClass="AreaShape">
<Points>
<Point Pos="0,0,0"/>
<Point Pos="1.2175293,1.1932373,0"/>
<Point Pos="-1.2880859,3.7346191,0"/>
<Point Pos="0.79418945,5.857666,0"/>
<Point Pos="3.230957,3.2347412,0"/>
<Point Pos="4.4147949,4.3747559,0"/>
<Point Pos="0.390625,8.1248779,0"/>
<Point Pos="-3.8071289,3.7728271,0"/>
</Points>
<SoundData Side1="0" Side2="0" Side3="0" Side4="0" Side5="0" Side6="0" Side7="0" Side8="0" Roof="0" Floor="0"/>
</Object>
 

Cyber_Saint

Missing Survivor
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
How did you place the ladder?, i mean you can't just use random code for position and rotation. And can i add a survey point inside my base?. Also i have a suggestion, instead using leader you can use some climable object and stack it.
 
Top