Cooking Corner

YojimBeau

Alamo Leader
Staff member
As I was cooking dinner tonight, I thought it would be nice to have a thread here to discuss cooking. Whether you're just learning, master-level home chef, or an actual professional chef, let's talk about what we're doing, what we know, and what we want to know.

Over the last twenty years, I've become pretty good in the kitchen. My ex was a vegan, so I've spent the last two years cooking vegan dishes that actually taste good! It was never my goal or intent to make "meat-like" dishes, but rather to cook food that tasted great and contained no animal product. Now that she's out of the picture, I've spent the last week trying to learn how to cook meat again.

Tonight, I'm cooking butterflied pork chop, homemade quick-kraut and buttered baby carrots which I'll finish (caramelize) in the pan that I cooked the chop in.

What's happening in your kitchen?

Well, as I used to be a baker, one would think, I'd know all sorts of cool things.

One would be wrong too. The best I can manage is sandwiches, subs and canned goods. Once, I used the mystical baking arts to craft a pizza from scratch. It was a fun project but turned out to be more trouble than it was worth.

YojimBeau

Alamo Leader
Staff member
Well, as I used to be a baker, one would think, I'd know all sorts of cool things.

One would be wrong too. The best I can manage is sandwiches, subs and canned goods. Once, I used the mystical baking arts to craft a pizza from scratch. It was a fun project but turned out to be more trouble than it was worth.
What? I've made homemade pizza many times. Instant yeast is essential and yeah, it's a lot of work, but it's so good.

Pastry dough! That is my nemesis! Now that I'm cooking with real butter again, I might be able to make a reasonable effort and get good results, but vegan pastry dough is neigh unto impossible.

Just Too

Alamo Rookie